I am now accessing as a :



  • The question of Land Reforms was discussed at the highest political in the year 1949 and an Agrarian Reforms Committee was constituted with Shri J.C. Kumarappa as its chairman. The It is worth mentioning that Agrarian Reforms Committee as constituted in 1949 under the Chairmanship of J.C.Kumarappa made following recommendation
    (a) elimination of scope of exploitation of poor cultivators by rich land lord
    (b) to inculcate in the minds of farmers a sense of self assertion
    (c) Abolition of all intermediaries between the state and the tiller
    (d) prohibition of subletting of land and transfer of agricultural land to non-agriculturalist
    (e) the setting up of an administrative machinery with dedicated officers for proper implementation of land reforms measures.
    Kumarappa’s recommendation had been given due importance by the State Govt. as all pieces of legislation passed by the State legislature since 1951 for land reforms have reflection of the same. In the light of the recommendation made by the first Agrarians Reforms Committee, the first five year plan had given priority on Agricultural Reforms mainly,
    (1) Abolition of intermediaries between the State & the tillers,
    (2) Tenancy Reforms to reduce rent, provide security of tenure and give cultivating tenants an opportunity to purchase the land from the owner.
     The Directorate of Land Requisition Acquisition & Reforms, Assam was established in 1968 to look after matters relating to Land Requisition Acquisition and Reforms; primarily on implementation of:-

    • Assam Fixation of Ceiling on Land Holdings Act, 1956(as amended)
    • Assam State Acquisition of Land belonging to Religious or Charitable Institutions of Public Nature Act, 1959
    • The Assam Gramdan Act, 1961
    • Assam Bhoodan Act, 1965
    • Assam (Temporarily Settled Areas ) Tenancy Act, 1971
    • Land Policy, 1989
    • Assam Land and Revenue Regulation, 1886